ECUDOMEF 2020 Scholarship Awards

Akalonu Ozioma, 5 Other Students, Receive Prestigious ECUDOMEF 2020 Scholarship Awards. 

Her Excellency Prof Viola Onwuliri (Board Chairperson) with Rev Fr Alex Ihenebo

Amuzi, Ahiazu-Mbaise, Imo State Nigeria; December 31, 2020: The annual scholarship examination sponsored by the Eze and Ugoeze Dorathy Oparaoji Memorial Education Foundation (www.ECUDOMEF.Org), held on December 19, 2020, at the Catholic Women Organization (CWO) School, Amuzi, and the Top performing six (6) students selected for the 2020 ECUDOMEF scholarship awards. The highest scoring candidate was Ms Akalonu Ozioma (from Umunnanwe village). Other successful candidates were, Onyewuchi Mmesoma (Umuowasi village), Anyanwu Bright (Umu hu/Loghocho), Ugwo Emmanuel (Umu hu/Loghocho), Njoku Prisca (Umuofor), and Njoku Samuel (Ako-na-ojibo).

Akalonu Ozioma highest scoring candidate with Dr. Mrs Ndidi Oparaoji

The awards were presented by a Board of Trustees member, Dr (Mrs) Ndidi Oparaoji- a US based author, educationist and spouse of the founder.  The assessment of the exam was based on the usual groupings of three categories: Arts, Social Sciences and Science. All candidates wrote English language, Mathematics exams (Nigerian national requirements for tertiary education) and Biology. Other subjects’ options were based on the student’s preferred category. For Arts option, additional subjects were, Economics and Christian Religious Knowledge, for Social Sciences option:  Economics and Commerce, and for Science: Chemistry and Physics. There were 37 students who registered for the exam, but 36 sat for it. Of these 1 student chose the Arts category, 7 chose Social Sciences and 28 the Science track.

The ECUDOMEF Scholarship was founded in 1990, by Professor Eddie Oparaoji, initially as Amuzi Scholarship Scheme, which then changed name following the death of his father HRH Eze Cletus Oparaoji, in 1997, as a platform for educational advancement and human resource development, through award of scholarships to deserving students. It is noteworthy that over 500 students have been beneficiaries of ECUDOMEF Scholarships since inception and have gone to become very valuable and productive members of our community, society, various trades and professions.

The 2020 awards ceremony was preceded by the memorial mass at the St. Jude’s Catholic Church, Amuzi, celebrated by a team of 7 Priests, among whom were Rev. Fr. Protase Anyanwu who delivered a fantastic homily, and Rev. Fr. Alex Ihenebo, a former recipient of the ECUDOMEF Scholarship. At the mass, ECUDOMEF made Thanksgiving offerings, and its management team, the students and parents received special blessing from the officiating priests. Thereafter, the winners of the scholarship were unveiled.

Scholarship Awardees with Board members

During the award ceremony various speakers, including Board members, namely Dr Mrs Ndidi Oparaoji and the Board Chairman, former two-times Minister, Her Excellency, Professor  Viola Onwuliri, addressed the audience. Others who made presentations were Rev. Fr. Ihenebo, an ECUDOMEF Alumnus, and the Parish Catechist Mr Isaac Izunwanne, shared words of wisdom, from the point of view of a former winner of the award, and over a decade long ECUDOMEF coordination, respectively, with the students, parents and the Amuzi community. The event concluded with a hot breakfast for all in attendance.  

Reacting to the successful outcome of the 2020 program, Professor Oparaoji said, “We wish to commend our Chair and two-times Minister of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Her Excellency Professor Viola Onwuliri, all members of our board of trustees and management team represented by, Dr (Mrs) Ndidi Oparaoji, Professor Ig Onyeocha, Mrs Gertrude Anya, Dr Chinemerem Onwuliri, Engr. Tochukwu Onwuliri, Mrs Nneoma Onwuliri, Hon. Uche Chris Agomuo, Mrs Uchechi Agomuo, Mr Isaac Izunwanne, and the officiating Priests”.

“In addition, I wish to recognize the following who had labored beyond expectation to keep this program running seamlessly for 30 years, without failing, unlike most others. They are Late Professor Celestine Onwuliri,  the pioneer Chairman, Dr Mrs Ngozi Nwigwe, Chief Medical Director, Engr Ken Onwuliri,  Director of Operations and Rev. Fr Simon Nwachukwu. Finally we commend the introduction of new programs into the annual ECUDOMEF event namely the Kick for Kids and Book Fair initiatives introduced by Dr. Emeka Oparaoji and Ms Alexandra Nwigwe respectively”.

Comments are closed.